• MSM News

  • Skip Navigation LinksAdministration > Marketing & Communications > MSM News
  • News Archive

    2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

    Back to MSM News »

    Morehouse School of Medicine’s Sicily Garvin Honored with Physicians of Tomorrow Award from the American Medical Association Foundation

    The American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation granted Physicians of Tomorrow Awards to eighteen rising fourth-year medical students across the nation. Recipients were nominated by their medical schools and chosen based upon academics, financial need and community involvement. Each student will receive a $10,000 scholarship to defray medical school expenses.

    Morehouse School of Medicine’s Dean and Executive Vice President, Dr. Valerie Montgomery Rice commented on the burden many young medical graduates bear.  “The average medical student in the U.S. graduates with about $160,000 in student loan debt, and unfortunately this deters many from pursuing a career in primary care.  Through this program, the AMA Foundation helps to ensure that the best and brightest primary care graduates will practice in underserved areas and in the primary care field.”  “Sicily is an excellent representative of so many students here at Morehouse School of Medicine – dedicated to our mission of serving the underserved.”

    The AMA Foundation has awarded over $61 million in scholarships to deserving medical students since 1950. The recipients are: 

    AMA Foundation Scholarships: 

    Thomas Churilla, The Commonwealth Medical College 

    Sicily Garvin, Morehouse School of Medicine 

    Nicholas Giacalone, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine 

    George Hanna, Saint Louis University School of Medicine 

    Daniel Hashimoto, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine 

    Kenneth Ike, Yale School of Medicine 

    Kabir Matharu, University of California, Davis School of Medicine 

    Colleen McCormick, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine 

    Laura Ostapenko, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth 

    Sean Paschall, University of Texas Medical Branch 

    Natasha Pyfrom, Creighton University School of Medicine 

    Sarah Wittry, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine 

    Matthew Ziegelmann, University of Minnesota Medical School, Twin Cities 

    Dr. Lin and Minta Hill Alexander Scholarship 

    Supporting an Oklahoma medical school 

    Kaitlin Isley, Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine 

    Johnson F. Hammond, MD Scholarships 

    Supporting medical journalism 

    Alexandra Coria, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth 

    Abigail Cutler, University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine 

    Jason Reminick, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry 

    Rena Xu, Harvard Medical School 

    “We are recognizing the exceptional qualities of these students at this stage in their careers,” stated AMA Foundation President Clarence Chou, MD. “We want to acknowledge their significant accomplishments in academics and community service and hope to follow them as they progress in serving their patients and their communities.”