• Historical Highlights

  • Skip Navigation LinksAdministration > Integrated Planning and Decision Support > Quick Links > Historical Highlights
  • Accreditation | AlumniFacilities | Historical Highlights

    Historical Highlights
    1975 The School of Medicine at Morehouse College became the first predominately black medical school established in the United States in the 20th century.
    Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., was appointed dean and director.
    1978 Charter class of 24 students entered a two-year basic medical sciences program.
    1981 MSM became an independently chartered educational institution.
    Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., was named the first president.
    MSM became the seventh institution in the Atlanta University Center (AUC) consortium.
    Graduate Medical Education Program initiated with accreditation of Family Practice Residency program by the Accrediting Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).
    1982 The Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) authorized the school to plan a four-year, degree-granting medical education program.
    1983 Third-year medical students (charter class) began clinical rotations at Grady Memorial Hospital in cooperation with Emory University School of Medicine.
    1985 LCME granted full accreditation to award the M.D. degree.
    First students were awarded the M.D. degree by Morehouse School of Medicine on May 17.
    1986 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) accreditation.
    Public Health/Preventive Medicine Residency initiated.
    1989 James Goodman, Ph.D., named president.
    1990 MSM assumed full responsibility for teaching third-year clerkship in family medicine, surgery and psychiatry.
    1991 LCME and SACS reaffirmed accreditation.
    MSM assumed full responsibility for third-year clerkship for medicine.
    Graduate Education, the Biomedical Sciences (Ph.D.) program, initiated.
    Psychiatry Residency initiated.
    1992 Nelson McGhee, M.D., named interim president 1992-1993.
    Internal Medicine Residency initiated.
    1993 Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., appointed president.
    MSM assumed full responsibility for third-year clerkship for Obstetrics/Gynecology.
    1995 Master of Public Health (MPH) Program initiated.
    1997 Obstetrics/Gynecology Residency initiated.
    First M.P.H. degree awarded.
    MSM assumed full responsibility for third-year clerkship for Pediatrics.
    1998 LCME extended accreditation for maximum period of seven years.
    First Ph.D. degree awarded.
    MPH program accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH), making Morehouse School of Medicine the first historically black college or university to receive CEPH accreditation.
    2000 MSM celebrated 25 years.
    2001 Pediatrics Residency initiated.
    SACS extended accreditation for a maximum of 10 years.
    2002 James R. Gavin III, M.D., Ph.D., becomes president of Morehouse School of Medicine
    2003 Master of Science in Clinical Research (M.S.C.R.) Program initiated.
    2005 MSM celebrated 30 years.
    2006 Dr. Eve J. Higginbotham becomes new dean of Morehouse School of Medicine
    Dr. John E. Maupin becomes president of Morehouse School of Medicine
    2007 Atlanta Clinical & Translational Science Institute (ACTSI) establishes partnership between MSM, Emory University and Georgia Institute of Technology to accelerate the translation of lab discoveries into healthcare innovations.  ACTSI is one of 46 entities in the U.S. funded by the NIH.
    Satcher Health Leadership Institute established.
    2008 Master of Science in Biomedical Research and Biomedical Technology programs initiated.
    2009 CEPH re-accredits MPH program for a maximum of seven years.
    2010 MSM ranks number one in first-ever study of all U.S. medical schools in the area of social mission.
    First Master of Science in Biomedical Research student graduates.