• Board of Advisors

  • Skip Navigation LinksResearch > Centers & Institutes > The Satcher Health Leadership Institute (SHLI) > Board of Advisors
  • William Beardslee, MD
    Academic Chair
    Department of Psychiatry
    Children's Hospital

    Virginia Trotter Bettes, MSN, JD, RN, FAAN
    Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities

    Lisa Borders
    Member at Large
    President, Atlanta City Council

    Robert L. Brown Jr., FAIA
    President & CEO, R. L. Brown & Associates, Inc.

    Richard Carmona, MD, MPH
    17th U.S. Surgeon General 
    Vice Chairman, Canyon Ranch CEO, Canyon Ranch Health
    President, Canyon Ranch Institute
    Distinguished Professor of Public Health
    Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health

    Walter Earl Fluker, Ph.D.
    Executive Director
    The Leadership Center at Morehouse College, Morehouse College

    Mary Hayashi, MBA
    Member at Large
    California State Assembly Member
    State Capitol

    Michael Lomax, Ph.D., MA
    Member at Large
    President and CEO, United Negro College Fund

    Michael Johns, MD
    Chancellor, Emory University

    Veda C. Johnson, MD
    Director of Community and School Based Clinics
    Department of Pediatrics, Emory University School of Medicine

    Susan Kelly, Ph.D., FAPS
    Member at Large
    President, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

    Diana Natalicio, Ph.D., MA
    Member at Large
    President, University of Texas at El Pas

    Alicia Philipp
    President, The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta

    Joan Reede, MD, MPH, MS
    Dean for Diversity and Community Partnership, Harvard Medical School

    Mark L. Rosenberg, MD, MPP
    Executive Director
    The Task Force for Child Survival and Development
    Center for Child Well-Being

    Eduardo Sanchez, MD, MPH
    Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas

    Donna Shalala, Ph.D.
    Member at Large
    President, University of Miami

    Travis Smiley
    Member at Large
    CEO, The Smiley Group, Inc.

    Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS
    Member at Large
    Professor and Dean Emeritus, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

    Jean Spaulding, MD
    The Duke Endowment

    Kimberlydawn Wisdom, MD
    Surgeon General
    Michigan Department of Community Health Office of the Surgeon General
    Vice President of Community Health Education and Wellness, Henry Ford Health System