

Academic Awards

Thursday, November 30 | 4:30–6 PM



JOIN ONLINE: Scan QR code to join via zoom Meeting ID: 930 3187 4464 Passcode: 584471

KEYNOTE SPEAKER:

Dr. Derica N. Sams, M.D.

Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition Owner of the Pediatric Digestive Health and Wellness Clinic

Co-Founder of TheMelaninMD: Curator of Black Health Equity







MASTER AND MISTRESS OF CEREMONIES

Chelsey Nwadike (MSMS) Samuel Scott (PhD) Ayomide Olayiwola (PhD)

GREETING AND WELCOME

Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD, FACOG President and Chief Executive Officer

Dean Dr. Joseph Adrian Tyndall, MD, MPH Executive Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean

INTRODUCTION OF GUEST SPEAKER

Chelsey Nwadike, GEBS SGA President

GUEST SPEAKER

Dr. Derica N. Sams, M.D Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition Owner of the Pediatric Digestive Health and Wellness Clinic Co-Founder of The Melanin MD: Curator of Black Health Equity

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

Jalessa Garth, PhD-Curriculum Director

PHD RISING STAR Dana Battle

MSBT RISING STAR Dahnielle Milton

MSCR RISING STAR Tyana Joseph

MSHI RISING STAR Sonya Muller

MSMS RISING STAR Naja Bostwick



MSBR STELLAR STUDENT AWARD

Ayomide Olayiwola (PhD)

MSMS HONORABLE MENTIONS

Darlene Okpokpo (MSMS)

OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC PERFORMANCE

BASIC BIOCHEMISTRY

Naja Bostwick (MSMS)

BIOMEDICAL GENETICS AND GENOMICS

Ayomide Olayiwola (MSBR) Kaylor Mondaizie (PhD)

CLINICAL TRIALS

Briana Brock (MSCR)

Kyra Brewer (MSCR)

COMMUNITY HEALTH AND ASSESMENTS PROMOTION

Kiara Cross (MSMS)

CRITICAL THINKING AND PROBLEM SOLVING I

Champagnae Smith (MSMS)

CRITICAL THINKING AND PROBLEM SOLVING II

Darlene Okpokpo (MSMS) Lauryn Terry (MSMS)

CRITICAL THINKING AND SCIENTIFIC COMMUNICATION I

Tkayhlia Cornish (MSBR) Dana Battle (PhD)

CRITICAL THINKING AND SCIENTIFIC COMMUNICATION II

Amber Dawning (MSBR)
Dana Battle (PhD)

FUNDAMENTALS OF BIOSTATISTICS

Naja Bostwick (MSMS) Clinton Emeh (MSMS) Kyra Brewer (MSCR)

GRADUATE BIOCHEMISTRY

Ayomide Olayiwola (MSBR)
Dana Battle (PhD)

GRADUATE BIOCHEMISTRY LAB

Kaylor Mondaizie (PhD) Ayomide Olayiwola (MSBR) Amber Dawning (MSBR)

HUMAN BIOLOGY

Dana Battle (PhD) Ayomide Olayiwola (MSBR)

INTEGRATED BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES

Amber Dawning (MSBR) Ayomide Olayiwola (MSBR) Dana Battle (PhD)

INTRO TO HUMAN GROSS ANATOMY

Gabrielle Washington (MSMS)

INTRO TO PUBLIC HEALTH

Clinton Emeh (MSMS)

MEDICAL HISTOLOGY I: CELLS AND TISSUES

Naja Bostwick (MSMS)

MEDICAL HISTOLOGY II: ORGANS AND SYSTEMS

Naja Bostwick (MSMS)

SCIENTIFIC INTEGRITY

Amani Gaddy (PhD)
Blake Allen (PhD)

EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD

FACULTY SUPERLATIVES

Most Inspirational Speech

Biggest Smile

Most Likely to Roast You

Most Likely to Never Finish Early

Most Likely in a Meeting

CLOSING REMARKS

Danita Eatman-Daniels, PhD Associate Dean, Graduate Studies

SPECIAL THANKS TO

Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD President & Chief Executive Officer

Joseph Adrian Tyndall, MD, MPH Executive Vice President, Health Affairs & Dean

> Rick Kittles, PhD Senior Vice President, Research

Martha Elks, MD, PhD Senior Associate Dean, Educational Affairs

Danita Eatman-Daniels, PhD Associate Dean, Graduate Studies

GEBS AWARDS CEREMONY PLANNING COMMITTEE

Mae-Ling Baptiste
Danita Eatman-Daniels, PhD
Rita Finley, PhD
Jaleesa Garth, PhD
Tambria McLaurin
Shaquail Montgomery

Chelsey Nwadike

Ayomide Olayiwola

Ernest Ricks, PhD

Samuel Scott

Kahli Smith, PhD, MSCR

Fatima Stallworth

Rita Finley, PhD

Kamryn Tillman