Programmatic Advisory Committee (PAC)

The Morehouse School of Medicine Neuroscience Institute is fortunate to have the commitment of a stellar group of senior academic advisors who bring a wealth of scientific accomplishments and experience in program development to assisting the NI consolidate its position in the field.

Composition:

Raymond Dingledine, Ph.D., Professor and Chairman, Department of Pharmacology, Senior

Associate Dean, Research, Emory University

Gerald Fischbach, M.D., Simons Foundation

Michael Iuvone, Ph.D., Professor, Emory University

William Powers, M.D., Professor, University of North Carolina

Josh Sanes, Ph.D., Professor, Harvard University

Amita Seghal, Ph.D., Professor, University of Pennsylvania Huda Zoghbi, M.D., Professor, Baylor College of Medicine

Raymond Dingledine, Ph.D., Chairman of EAC. He brings a wealth of knowledge in academic leadership having served as Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at Emory University and as associate dean for research. He is an expert on the role of transmitter-gated receptors in the brain and on the protective roles of signaling systems. His scientific expertise will beneficial to investigators in the area of acute brain injury.

P. Michael luvone, Ph.D. is an expert in the area of circadian rhythms and the Director of Research in the Department of Ophthalmology, Emory University School of Medicine. He is familiar with MSM having served in an advisory capacity for other research program and as mentioned above he served as an internal advisor for a former investigator. His knowledge of MSM and of the senior leadership will be helpful as he evaluates progress and makes recommendations for improvement.

Gerald Fischbach, M.D. is a national leader in neurobiology having served as departmental chair at Washington University in St. Louis and at Harvard Medical School and as director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorder sand Stroke at the NIH. The NI at MSM was established while he was NINDS director. He brings a personal commitment to ensuring the success of the NI and an uncommon understanding of institutional development and scientific performance.

William Powers, M.D. is professor of Neurology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He brings research expertise in clinical and translational neuroscience. He has served as a member of the EAC for two years and brings expertise that will be useful to members of the acute brain injury sector of the Institute. His responsiveness to review proposals prior to submission is particularly beneficial.

Amita Seghal, Ph.D., a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at the University of Pennsylvania, is an expert in the area of circadian rhythms and sleep disorders. She has served on the committee for two years and has made valuable contributions in evaluation and program improvement.

Joshua Sanes, Ph.D. is professor of the Brain Institute at Harvard University. His reputation as an innovative investigator and his experience in program development and advising will be invaluable to the investigators in the Institute. His expertise in fundamental neuroscience particularly in the areas of cell differentiation and circuits will be useful to all members of the Institute.

Huda Zohgbi, M.D. a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at Baylor College of Medicine and a nationally-recognized expert on the genetics of neurological disorders. Her expertise will be beneficial to all investigators in the Institute.