Graduate Medical Education Celebrates 20th Annual Joint Residents' Graduation

June 5, 2015 - Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM)'s office of Graduate Medical Education (GME) celebrated its 20th annual Joint Residents' Graduation on June 5th. The graduation ceremony featured the "Charge to Graduates" by MSM President and Dean Dr. Valerie Montgomery Rice, keynote address looking at the history of MSM residency programs by Professor and Chair of Community Heath and Preventive Medicine Dr. Beverly Deaderick Taylor, a special "20 Years of Excellence" video introduced by William E. Booth, MSM's first Director of GME, and the GME awards recognizing outstanding faculty and students.

Challenging recent graduates to uphold the MSM Mission and become integral parts of their communities by mentoring and extending themselves was a common theme throughout the ceremony. Over the past 20 years, GME graduates have had great success upholding the Mission as there have been a total of 733 graduates with 487 remaining to practice in Georgia (66 percent).

GME Award Winners

  • Dr. Folashade Omole, 2015 Faculty Member of the Year
  • Dr. Juliet Muzere, 2015 Resident of the Year
  • Tiffany Burns, 2015 Program Manager of the Year
  • Melvin Raiford, 2015 Friend of GME
  • Dr. Michelle Harper Allen & Dr. Stephanie Melbourne-Carbs, 2015 Ryan and Reginald Wimberly Humanism in Medicine Award (a tie!)

Congratulations to all the GME faculty and graduates.