Dr. James McCoy

James A. McCoy, M.D., FACS 


Medical Education

Location: Hugh Gloster Building 208
Phone: 404-616-1428
E-mail: jmccoy@msm.edu


Texas Heart Institute 
Fellowship: Visiting Surgeon 

Emory University, School of Medicine 

Texas Heart Institute 
Cardiovascular Surgery

University of Texas Medical Branch
 Doctor of Medicine

Texas Southern University
Degree: Bachelor of Science

Research Interests

Clinical trial: Bio-electric womb device (Procellera), sponsored by Vomaris

Board Certification

American Board of Surgery    

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology


McCoy, J.A. and Ayim E: Management of Acute Thoracic Injuries. Anesthesia, 31 (4) p.p. 532-536, May 1976

Meyer, J., Reul, G.J., Mullins, C.E., McCoy, J.A., Hallman, G.L., and Cooley, D.A.: Congential Fistulas of the Coronary Arteries. Journal of Cardiovascular Surgery 16.506, 1975.

McCoy, J.A., Meyer, J., Cooley, D.A., Congenital Fistulas of the Coronary Artery.  Bulletin of the Texas Heart Institute, pp. 384-388, 1974.

McCoy, J.; Merrick, H. editors. The Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE). Published by Association for Surgical Education, 2001

Polk, C.H.; Mancini, M.C.; McCoy, J.A. “Esophagus.” Essentials of General Surgery 4th Edition. Edited by Peter Lawrence. Pennsylvania: William and Wilkins, 2006.  

Rao, A., McCoy, J., Dent, L., Mediastinitis: A Rare Complication of central Venous Catheterization.  Southeastern Surgical Congress, February 2007.

Click here to view additional publications. 

Honors and Awards

2021: Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus John Sealy School of Medicine-UTMB

2011: Arnold P Goldman Award Awarded by the Arnold P. Goldman Foundation
2011: Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award by the Morehouse School of Medicine

2006-2005: Dean’s Leadership Award for Most Outstanding Faculty 

2004: 25 years of Service Award Presented by the Atlanta Medical Association for Commitment, Dedication, and Excellence

2004: Elected to membership in Gamma Chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha    
2003: Award of Appreciation for Service to the Alumni Advisory Committee on Minority Affairs Presented by John D. Stobo, M.D., President, The University of Texas Medical Branch