Quentin T. Smith, M.D., DLFAPA

Quentin Ted Smith, M.D., DLFAPA 


Psychiatry & Behavioral Science

Associate Clerkship Director

Phone: 404-756-1440
E-mail: qsmith@msm.edu


Fairhill Mental Health Center
Residency: General Psychiatry

University Hospitals of Cleveland Ohio 
Fellowship: Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

Howard University College of Medicine
Degree: Doctor of Medicine


Fisk University, Nashville, TN
Bachelor of Arts in Psychology

Research Interests

Physician and medical student wellness

Clinical Interests

Mood, anxiety, and somatic disorders

Board Certification

 American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology


  • Rust GS, Taylor VS, Herbert-Carter J, Smith QT, Earles K, and Kondwani K. The Morehouse Faculty Development Program-Evolving Methods and 10 Year Outcomes, Family Medicine, January 2006.
  • Carter JHC, Taylor V, Smith QT, Earles K, Kondwani K, Rust, G. “Increasing Minority Faculty in Academic Primary Care: An Executive Faculty Development Program”.  J. Assoc Academic Minority Physicians, October 2004
  • Smith, QT  “Style Watch:Attitudes Toward Dress in African American Medical Students, Residents, and Early Career Psychiatrists”. J. National Medical Association, December 2002
  • Marc A. Nivet, EdD,1 Vera S. Taylor, MSTC,2 Gary C. Butts, MD,3 A. Hal Strelnick,MD,4 Janice Herbert-Carter, MD, MGA, FACP,5 Yvonne W. Fry-Johnson, MD, MSCR,6 Quentin T. Smith, MD,7 George Rust, MD,6 and Kofi Kondwani, MD6. Diversity in Academic Medicine No. 1 Case for Minority Faculty Development Today, MOUNT SINAI JOURNAL OF MEDICINE 75:491–498, 2008
  • Hal Strelnick, MD,1 Vera S. Taylor, MSTC,2 Beverly Williams, MS, JD,3 Elizabeth Lee-Rey, MD, MPH,4 Janice Herbert-Carter, MD, MGA,5 Yvonne W. Fry-Johnson,MD, MSCR,6 Quentin T. Smith, MD,7 George Rust, MD,6 and Kofi Kondwani, MD6. Diversity in Academic Medicine No. 3 Struggle for Survival Among Leading Diversity Programs, MOUNT SINAI JOURNAL OF MEDICINE 75:504–516, 2008

Honors and Awards

  • Teacher of Distinction, MSM
  • Keynote Speaker for the Student Annual Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society Banquet
  • Teacher of the Year, Presented by the Class of 2021
  • Presidents’ Award for Service from Georgia Psychiatric Physician’s Association
  • Platinum Member of the Founders Guild, Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society
  • Recognition for 35 Years of Service to MSM
  • Outstanding Faculty Member in the Department of Psychiatry presented by Class of 2019
  • Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
  • $400,000 Endowed Quentin Ted Smith, M.D. Scholarship Award