2nd Annual Morehouse School of Medicine Faculty Development Awards and Recognition Reception


At Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM), we fully understand the importance of ensuring that our students have the resources they need for the successful completion of their degree programs and to be future contributors in the advancement of health equity.  A major factor in the success of our students is having stellar faculty who are essential for providing that training.  The MSM Faculty Development Awards and Recognition Reception is an opportunity to acknowledge our MSM faculty who go above and beyond the call of duty to enhance the professional environment for faculty, which allows them to perform at their best in training our future health care leaders. This is our way of proclaiming to the awardees that we see their efforts in uplifting MSM faculty, and their actions are highly beneficial and appreciated.

2016 Morehouse School of Medicine Faculty Development Award Honorees


Dr. George Rust

George S. Rust, M.D., M.P.H., Recipient, Faculty Development Pioneer Award , Department of Family Medicine, National Center for Primary Care

In 1993, Dr. Rust and his colleagues observed that there were an alarmingly low number of under-represented minority (URM) primary care physicians in medical schools across the nation.  Dr. Rust and his colleagues knew that URM physicians possessed the clinical skills needed for success, but professional development was required to make the transition from the clinic to academia, and to succeed and sustain a long-term career in those faculty positions. As a result, Dr. Rust and his team took the resources present at MSM, their drive to increase the number of URM primary care physicians nationwide, and their desire to promote health equity, and created the MSM faculty development program.  Several years later, after expanding from community preceptors and faculty in the Family Medicine department to faculty in all MSM clinical departments, the program was further expanded to URM faculty around the country, in an on-site Executive Faculty Development program.  All of these elements moved to the National Center for Primary Care during its planning and development phase.  To date, at least 250 participants across the country have completed the program from various health professional and biomedical disciplines.  The methods and outcomes of the MSM faculty development program have been featured nationally in peer-reviewed journals as one of the leading minority faculty development programs in the country.


Dr. Beverly Taylor

Beverly Taylor, M.D., Recipient, Faculty Development Academic Leadership Award, Department of Community Health and Preventive Medicine

In 2012, Dr. Taylor became the Chair of the newly established Faculty Development Initiative Committee (FDIC) as a response to the faculty’s desire to have their professional development needs addressed.  She has successfully served as a liaison between the Office of Faculty Affairs and Development and FDIC as a voice for faculty, by sharing their ideas, recommendations, and concerns for the enhancement of faculty development as well as faculty affairs.  Furthermore, Dr. Taylor is a staunch advocate for the participation of her faculty in professional development opportunities.  She has consistently supported the travel of 10-20% of her faculty to annual external professional development venues to further their growth as future leaders in health care equity.


Dr. Yolanda Wimberly

Yolanda Wimberly, M.D., M.Sc., Recipient, Faculty Development Academic Leadership Award, Department of Pediatrics & Graduate Medical Education

After attending the Association of American Medical Colleges Mid-Career Women Faculty Professional Development Seminar, Dr. Wimberly was inspired to enhance the quality of and opportunities for faculty development in Graduate Medical Education (GME). She recognized that our residents will receive the best training at MSM when GME faculty has the resources that will allow them to teach at their best. She makes yearly assessments at her annual GME retreats of faculty milestones and productivity to ensure that the professional development needs of GME faculty are met, and to determine where areas of enhancement are needed.  She also successfully implemented the 1st Clinical Faculty Development Retreat in October 2015, which is now a yearly event.


Dr. Robert Meller

Robert Meller, D.Phil, Recipient, Faculty Development Facilitator Award, Department of Neuroscience, Neuroscience Institute

In 2012, Dr. Meller initiated the MSM professional development seminar series. The series was initially developed in response to a requirement of the proposed specialized neuroscience research program to include a professional development component. The grant was duly awarded (U54 PI MacLeish).  He partnered with the members of faculty affairs and administrative staff to develop what has evolved into the MSM Office of Faculty Affairs and Development Seminar Series.  Dr. Meller later partnered with Human Resources and developed a version of the seminar series for staff, essentially promoting global professional development across campus.  Dr. Meller also serves as a primary facilitator of many of those sessions, and has conducted group trainings for faculty and staff at multiple MSM locations.


Reed Tuckson, M.D., F.A.C.P. Serving as Keynote Speaker

Topic: “Leveraging Opportunities for the Successful Development of a Career in Medicine and Health Care”

Dr. Reed Tuckson is the Managing Director of Tuckson Health Connections, LLC, a health and medical care consulting business that brings people and ideas together to promote optimal health outcomes and value through innovation and integration across the fields of prevention; public health; consumer activation; quality care delivery; the translation of science and technology into value producing interventions; and optimization of big data and analytics.

Previously, Dr. Tuckson was a member of the Advisory Committee to the Director of the National Institutes of Health; served as Chairman of the Secretary of Health’s Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health and Society; and he has served on several U.S. Government cabinet level health advisory committees concerned with health reform, infant mortality, children’s health, violence, and radiation testing. He also served on the Board of Directors of Baxter International and the Board of Trustees of Rockefeller University.


To Attend:

The 2016 Morehouse School of Medicine Faculty Development Awards and Recognition Reception will be held on Wednesday, March 9, 2016 from 4:00-6:00 p.m. in the Louis Sullivan National Center for Primary Care building at Morehouse School of Medicine.  If you have questions, please contact Erika Brown, Ph.D., at (404) 753-1742 or etbrown@msm.edu.