Morehouse School of Medicine President and Dean Valerie Montgomery Rice Named to National Academy of Medicine

Prestigious Honor Recognizes Outstanding Professional Achievement 


Ronna Charles Nu’Man 

Oct. 17, 2016 - ATLANTA – The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) announced today the election of 70 regular members and nine international members during its annual meeting. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. Morehouse School of Medicine President and Dean Valerie Montgomery Rice, M.D., is among this list of newly elected members. 

"These newly elected members are outstanding professionals who care deeply about advancing health and health care in the U.S. and globally," said NAM President Victor J. Dzau. "Their expertise will help our organization address pressing health challenges and improve health, science, and medicine for the benefit of us all."

Dr. Valerie Montgomery RiceDr. Montgomery Rice is a leading and influential expert in women’s health and an advocate for the elimination of health disparities and the advancement of health equity. She serves on the National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities National Advisory Council and the NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health. She is the founder of the Center for Women’s Health Research at Meharry Medical College, one of the first research centers devoted to addressing diseases that disproportionately impact women of color.

The school’s sixth president, Dr. Montgomery Rice, joins seven other Morehouse School of Medicine National Academy of Medicine members: past President and former U.S. Surgeon General David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D.; President Emeritus and former U.S. Secretary for Health and Human Services Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.; past President James R. Gavin III, M.D.; former Dean Eve Higginbotham, M.D.; Peter MacLeish, Ph.D.; Elizabeth Ofili, M.D.; and former Director of MSM’s Cardiovascular Research Institute Gary Gibbons M.D.

Click here for a link to the full National Academy of Medicine release.

About Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM)
Founded in 1975, MSM is among the nation's leading educators of primary care physicians and was recognized by Annals of Internal Medicine in 2011 as the top institution in the first study of U.S. medical schools for our social mission based on our production of primary care physicians, training of underrepresented minority doctors and placement of doctors practicing in underserved communities. Our faculty and alumni are noted for excellence in teaching, research and public policy, as well as exceptional patient care.

Morehouse School of Medicine is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award doctorate and master degrees. For more information, please visit